Teacher as Hero Award

This yearly recognition program, sponsored by State Farm®, honors outstanding educators in the Delaware Valley.

Congratulations 2014-15 Teacher as Hero Winners!

 The National Liberty Museum (NLM) celebrated its ninth annual “Teacher as Hero” Award, sponsored by State Farm, on Thursday evening, April 30. The ceremony honored 15 Greater Philadelphia Educators who continually inspire, educate and motivate their students. To mark the occasion, State Farm Representatives, National Liberty Museum Leadership, friends and family gathered at the Museum for a jam-packed event. Meet the winners and watch the ceremony below.

The 2015 Honorees received much-deserved recognition!

Some of the actions for which the recipients were honored include:
• Teaching students about the dangers of drunk and distracted driving
• Creating unique courses to educate students on social issues and justice
• Establishing a youth court program at one of the most dangerous schools in the state
• Fighting for a curriculum that provides a more challenging environment for students

Shirleen Allicot of 6ABC served as the Emcee. The keynote speaker was Salome Thomas-EL, National Education Expert, and Award-Winning Teacher and Principal. Museum CEO Gwen Borowsky was joined by State Farm Representatives in presenting the awards.

We invite you to watch the entire ceremony, along with the news coverage from 6ABC.

Nominations for 2015-16 to open shortly!
We know there are many more incredible educators out there, and we need your help finding them!  If you know a teacher or educator who…

• Fosters an appreciation for diversity in the classroom;

• Teaches students how to resolve conflicts respectfully;

• Gives students a deeper understanding of the relationship between rights and responsibilities;

• Honors student voice in the classroom and in public spaces;

• Has taken a risk in order to remove an obstacle to a student’s liberty; or

• Incorporates the above concepts in their relationships with colleagues and community members; Or

• demonstrates excellence in teaching teen driver safety or an auto safety initiative

…please tell us about that person.

Please check back throughout the month of November.
An online form will be available before Thanksgiving!

Meet the 2105 winners!
Mary Angel Alim-Flores, Truebright Science Academy, Phila., PA
Christie Besack, Central Bucks High School West, Doylestown, PA
Sara Flounders, Boys’ Latin of Phila. Charter School, Phila., PA
Kevin Forik, Richard Allen Preparatory Charter School, Phila., PA
Amy Hatlee, Governor Mifflin High School, Shillington, PA
Emily Kleinle, St. Basil Academy, Jenkintown, PA
Evan Kramp, Strawberry Mansion High School, Phila., PA
Marilyn Larke, Camden County Tech. School, Pennsauken, NJ
David Magpiong, Voorhees Middle School, Voorhees, NJ
Jennifer Mahieu, Samsel Upper Elementary School, Parlin, NJ
Christian Rupertus, St. Joseph’s Preparatory School, Phila., PA
Peggy Marie Savage, Richmond Elementary School, Phila., PA
David Stokes, The Paul Robeson High School for Human Services, Phila., PA
Lisa Teixeira, Kennett High School, Kennett Square, PA
Carol Turano, Pinelands Regional High School, Tuckerton, NJ

To see an entire album of Award Ceremony photos, go to our Facebook page.