2015 Teacher as Hero Award

The 2015 Honorees received much-deserved recognition!

The National Liberty Museum (NLM) celebrated its ninth annual “Teacher as Hero” Award, sponsored by State Farm, on Thursday evening, April 30, 2015. Shirleen Allicot of 6ABC served as the Emcee. The keynote speaker was Salome Thomas-EL, National Education Expert, and Award-Winning Teacher and Principal. Museum CEO Gwen Borowsky was joined by State Farm Representatives in presenting the awards.

Meet the 2015 winners!
Click on their names to read their stories.

Mary Angel Alim-Flores, Truebright Science Academy, Phila., PA
Christie Besack, Central Bucks High School West, Doylestown, PA
Sara Flounders, Boys’ Latin of Phila. Charter School, Phila., PA
Kevin Forik, Richard Allen Preparatory Charter School, Phila., PA
Amy Hatlee, Governor Mifflin High School, Shillington, PA
Emily Kleinle, St. Basil Academy, Jenkintown, PA
Evan Kramp, Strawberry Mansion High School, Phila., PA
Marilyn Larke, Camden County Tech. School, Pennsauken, NJ
David Magpiong, Voorhees Middle School, Voorhees, NJ
Jennifer Mahieu, Samsel Upper Elementary School, Parlin, NJ
Christian Rupertus, St. Joseph’s Preparatory School, Phila., PA
Peggy Marie Savage, Richmond Elementary School, Phila., PA
David Stokes, The Paul Robeson High School for Human Services, Phila., PA
Lisa Teixeira, Kennett High School, Kennett Square, PA
Carol Turano, Pinelands Regional High School, Tuckerton, NJ

To see an entire album of Award Ceremony photos, go to our Facebook page.